RSS Feed

Dear Cinderella…

Dear Cinderella,

Today, you turn four.  Can you believe it?? You’re a big girl now, it’s so amazing! Your party isn’t for a few more days, because daddy hasn’t had a day off, and we want daddy to be in on it as well.  (Who are we kidding, Daddys our entertainment half of the time, isn’t he?)

I may not have carried you in my body for those nine months, Cinderella, but that doesn’t make me adore you any less than I already do.  I didn’t get to get up with you every few hours for a feeding and a changing. But I did get to  show you how to talk, how to say your name, use a zipper..etc.  I was privileged to teach you things that will be something you use for the rest of your life.

I’m going to be honest with you, Cindy. I wasn’t too sure, heck most of the time I’m still not that sure, if I could be a mom.  Our circumstances aren’t all that normal, if you don’t know. I didn’t know what I was doing, but then again, first time moms don’t know what they’re doing most of the time.  Trust me, if anyone else would have said that they have two moms, it’s a different conversation all together. But no, you have two mommies, don’t you? Your bio-mom would have given anything to be here with you, Cinderella, and I’m sorry she won’t be able to.  I’m just sorry that you won’t remember her, but through a few pictures and videos.

Now, i know you had a lot of catching up to do when you moved into your forever home, and I know it wasn’t easy. You’re such a big girl now! Daddy and I are oh, so very proud of you, did you know that? You are light-years ahead of where you were last year at this time. (Trust me, half of the time I’m pretty sure 14, not 4.)

-Love

Mommy and Daddy

Leave a Reply

